Announcing Practical SharePoint 2013 ECM

I am well into writing the initial draft for my second book, Practical SharePoint 2013 Enterprise Content Management, published by Apress. So far, I am trending well to finish the draft this fall for a release in December.

This is an exciting book, because I designed its theme to go beyond simply offering a survey of product features and configuration settings, instead offering you guidance on when to choose a particular feature, how to plan and adapt your organization to adopt an ECM solution, and how to analyze your business requirements and processes to design an effective ECM solution.

I organized this book into four parts to look at four key aspects of an ECM initiative:

  • Planning and Analyzing Your Information Life Cycle: The chapters in this part focus on building an understanding of enterprise content management and analyzing your information life cycle.
  • Managing Your Transitory Content: The chapters in this part focus on organizing and managing collaborative, web, and electronic form content.
  • Designing Your Information Discovery: The chapters in this part focus on the different ways to enable your users to discover relevant content as well as to secure other content users are not authorized to discover.
  • Designating and Managing Your Records: The chapters in this part focus on how to design a file plan and implement a records repository to capture and manage the life cycle of official records in your organization.

I am writing this book using the same conversation style that I did in my previous book, setting it up so that it feels like I’m right there with you, having a conversation, sharing my experience and insights. Also like my previous book, I wrote it so it is condensed, getting right to the point without any pages of “filler” like unnecessary screenshots or code samples—I tried to include just enough to communicate a concept well, and then move on to the next topic, maximizing the space I had available and hopefully making it a lively read.

This book is for you if you work on ECM projects with SharePoint, if you are planning an ECM project, or if you are a records manager and want to understand how SharePoint implements ECM concepts.